New Extended Eligibility Criteria

As of the 8th July 2014 the Trustees have decided to extend the eligibility criteria to enable more people to access the services provided by sight airedale.

To access the services of sight airedale a person must: -

  • live in the Airedale District, in one of the following post code areas. Keighley (BD13, BD15, BD21 and BD22), Silsden (BD20), Bingley (BD16), Ilkley (LS29), Skipton (BD23), Cross Hills (BD20), Settle (BD24) and Barnoldswick (BB18)
  • is certified sight impaired (partially sighted) or severely sight impaired (blind) and has a CVI (Certificate of Visual Impairment) issued by a Consultant Ophthalmologist.

Or has a letter of Visual Impairment confirming that they have a medium to long term eye condition that meets one of the following criteria.

  • is eligible to be certified severely sight impaired (blind) or sight impaired (partially sighted) but has chosen not to certify or their consultant declines to certify.
  • has an impairment of visual function which cannot be improved by the use of corrective lenses to a level that would normally be acceptable for reading N12 print.
  • is unable through physical disability to focus or move their eyes to the extent that would normally be acceptable for reading.

What is a Letter of Visual Impairment (LVI)

An LVI is a form issued by sight airedale which is signed either by your GP (some GPs may make a charge) or Optometrist. It provides proof of your eligibility to access the services provided by sight airedale.

An LVI can be obtained through calling our Helpline on 01535 602354 or by calling in at our Registered Office at 1 Albert Street, Keighley, BD21 2AT (please check our opening times). 

Note: Special Needs Grants and the Benefit Form Completion Service are only available to Registered sight impaired people.

What's New

To mark our 110th Anniversary a new tactile map was unveiled at a special event held on Tuesday 9 May 2017.

Show your support with peronsalised greeting cards